AVSS-2013 was the 10-th edition of the conference. Carlo Regazzoni of the UNiversity of Genova, Italy is considered the "father" of this conference. His contributions were recognized at the AVSS-2013 banquet with a plaque containing the following citation:

Certificate of Appreciation

presented to 


For creation of and longstanding service to the IEEE International Conference on Advanced Video and Signal-Based Surveillance (AVSS)

Six papers were nominated by reviewers and Area Chairs for the Best Paper Award. The following committee evaluated the nominated papers:
  • Fatih Porikli, MERL, USA
  • Nicu Sebe, University of Trento, Italy
  • Christian Wolf, Université de Lyon, France
  • Krystian Mikołajczyk, University of Surrey, UK
  • Adam Krzyżak, Concordia University, Canada
The results were announced at the conference banquet:

AVSS-2013 Best Paper Award:

"Reference-based person re-identification"

Le An, Mehran Kafai, Songfan Yang, Bir Bhanu

University of California, Riverside, USA

AVSS-2013 Best Paper Finalist:


"Structured learning for detection of social groups in crowd"

Francesco Solera, Simone Calderara, Rita Cucchiara

University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Modena, Italy 

AVSS-2013 Best Poster Award:

 “Video segmentation with spatio-temporal tubes"

Remi Trichet, Ram Nevatia
University of Southern California, Los Angeles, USA


A thorough and unbiased work of reviewers is essential in preparing a high-quality program of each conference. AVSS-2013 Program Chairs have recognized the effort and quality work of the following reviewers with the Best Reviewer Award:
  • Dima Damen, University of Bristol
  • Andrea Fossati, ETH Zurich
  • Guillaume Lavoue, INSA Lyon
  • Marius Leordeanu, Romanian Academy
  • Massimo Piccardi, University of Technology, Sydney
  • Falk Schubert, EADS Munich

Finally, the following students have been awarded Student Participation Support Awards at AVSS-2013:
  • Hao-Jen Wang, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Dong Liang, Hokkaido University, Japan
  • Riccardo Mazzon, Queen Mary University of London, UK
  • Simone Chiappino, University of Genoa, Italy